<%@LANGUAGE="JAVASCRIPT" CODEPAGE="65001"%> Whatever Magazine

Issue 7 Contents


Defend the President

The Argument

Whereas George Washington died of syphilis,

Whereas Thomas Jefferson won re-election despite common knowledge that he had an affair with slave Sally Hemmings and sold their children into slavery,

Whereas Alexander Hamilton bought a full page ad in New York's largest newspaper to explain that his acknowledged affair would not affect his conduct in office,

Whereas Grover Cleveland lied and denied fathering an illegitimate child during the dedication of the Statue of Liberty,

Whereas President Warren G. Harding's wife chased his mistresses off the White House porch by throwing furniture,

Whereas Franklin Roosevelt had many mistresses and denied them,

Whereas Dwight Eisenhower denied a relationship with Kay Summersby when asked directly,

Whereas JFK's indiscretions are well known,

Whereas the Washington DC police shut down an entire section of town to hide a traffic accident in which George Bush and his mistress were in the same car,

...the framers of the Constitution (some mentioned above), subsequent office holders and the citizenry of the United States clearly did not intend for such transgressions to be impeachable offenses.

Despite ample opportunity, there is no precedent for such action. The matter of the President and Ms. Lewinsky should be left for the parties involved to deal with and for history to record, as a footnote.

Make The Argument To:

Mail Every Senator Your Thoughts!

Mail Every Representative in the House!

Contact Congress Toll-Free


This number will connect you with a Congressional operator which can transfer you to your Congressional Representatives. For a directory of Congressmen and Senators, please go to www.house.gov and www.senate.gov.

Selected Members and Committees

Honorable Bob Barr (R-GA)
1130 Longworth House Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20515-4611
Phone: (202) 225-2931
FAX: (202) 225-2944
Website: http://www.house.gov/barr

Honorable Gerald Solomon
2206 Rayburn House Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: (202) 225-5614
Website: http://www.house.gov/solomon

Honorable Henry Hyde
2110 Rayburn House Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: (202) 225-4561
Website: http://www.house.gov/hyde

Honable Dan Burton
2185 Rayburn House Office Building
Wasington, DC 20515
Phone: (202) 225-2276
Fax: (202) 225-0016
Website: http://www.house.gov/burton/

Honorable Newt Gingrich, House Speaker (R-GA)
2428 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
(202) 225-4501
(202) 225-4656 Fax
Website: http://www.house.gov/gingrich/

Honorable Dick Armey, House Majority Leader (R-TX)
301 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
(202) 225-7772
Website: http://armey.house.gov/

Honorable Tom Delay, House Majority Whip (R-TX)
341 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
(202) 225-5951
(202) 225-5241 Fax
Website: http://tomdelay.house.gov/

Honorable Chris Cox, Chairman, House Republican Policy Committee
2402 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
(202) 225-5611
(202) 225-9177 Fax
Website: http://www.house.gov/chriscox/

House Government Reform and Oversight Committee
2157 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
Phone:(202) 225-5074
Fax:(202) 225-3974
Website: http://www.house.gov/reform

House Rules Committee
312 O 'Neill House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: (202) 225-9191
Website: http://www.house.gov/rules

Committee on the Judiciary
2138 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
(202) 225-3951
Mr. Hyde (Chairman)
Mr. Sensenbrenner (WI)
Mr. McCollum (FL)
Mr. Gekas (PA)
Mr. Coble (NC)
Mr. Smith (TX)
Mr. Schiff (NM)
Mr. Gallegly (CA)
Mr. Canady (FL)
Mr. Inglis (SC)
Mr. Goodlatte (VA)
Mr. Buyer (IN)
Mr. Graham (SC)
Mr. Bryant (TN)
Mr. Chabot (OH)
Mr. Barr (GA)
Mr. Jenkins (TN)
Mr. Hutchinson (AR)
Mr. Pease (IN)
Mr. Rogan (CA)
Mr. Cannon (UT)
Mr. Conyers (MI)
Mr. Frank (MA)
Mr. Schumer (NY)
Mr. Berman (CA)
Mr. Boucher (VA)
Mr. Nadler (NY)
Mr. Scott (VA)
Mr. Watt (NC)
Ms. Jackson Lee (TX)
Ms. Waters (CA)
Mr. Meechan (MA)
Mr. Delahunt (MA)
Mr. Wexler (FL)
Mr. Rothman (NJ)

Subcommittee on the Constitution
362 Ford HOB
Washington, DC 20515
(202) 226-7680
Mr. Canady (Chairman)
Mr. Hyde (IL)
Mr. Inglis (SC)
Mr. Bryant (TN)
Mr. Jenkins (TN)
Mr. Goodlatte (VA)
Mr. Barr (GA)
Mr. Hutchinson (AR)
Mr. Scott (VA)
Ms. Waters (CA)
Mr. Conyers (MI)
Mr. Nadler (NY)
Mr. Watt (NC)